MTN supports 46th SWAG Awards night Ghs 50,000 – Citi Sports Online

Telecommunications giants, MTN Ghana, has supported the 46th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards Night with an amount of Ghs 50,000.

The announcement was made at a brief ceremony at MTN House at Ridge, Accra on Wednesday morning.

The 2021 SWAG Awards Night is slated for 17th December, 2021 at the Accra International Conference Center.

Twenty Five (25) deserving sports personalities will be awarded in 32 categories.

The Nominees

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) has named the top performers for honors at the 46th SWAG Awards in Accra.

The General Assembly after critiquing the work done by the Awards Nominations Committee, endorsed and approved the final list of top performers for the 2020/21 calendar year which ended in September.

The list also includes the SWAG Top 5 where Federations that had little or no support but was active in the year under review will be ranked through voting.

Shortlist of nominees below :

Sports Personality of the Year

  • 4X100m Relay Team – Athletics
  • Samuel Takyi – Amateur Boxing
  • Daniel Afriyie Barnieh – Football, Hearts

Footballer of the Year (Foreign)

  • Daniel Amartey [Leicester City]
  • Mohammed Kudus [Ajax]
  • Jonathan Mensah [Columbus Crew]

Footballer of the Year (Home Based)

  • Diawusie Taylor (Karela United)
  • Daniel Afriyie Barnieh (Hearts of Oak)
  • Ishmeal Ganiu (Asante Kotoko)

Female Footballer of the Year – Female

  • Constance Agyemang – Berry Ladies
  • Janet Agyiri – Hasaacas
  • Jafar Rahama – Northern Ladies/Hasaacas

Coach of the Year

  • Abdul Karim Zito (U20)
  • Christian Nsiah – Athletics
  • Samuel Boadu – Hearts
  • Coach Ofori Asare – Amateur Boxing
  • Yussif Basigi – Hasaacas Ladies

Athlete of the Year (Male)

  • Benjamin Azamati
  • Joseph Paul Amoah

Athlete of the Year (Female)

Boxer of the Year (Professional)

  • Alfred Lamptey
  • Mohammed Aryeetey
  • John Abaja Laryea

Boxer of the Year (Amateur)

  • Samuel Takyi – Featherweight

SWAG Top 5 (Discipline Rank) Shortlist

  • Athletics
  • Amateur Boxing
  • Badminton
  • Chess
  • Rugby
  • Table Tennis
  • Tennis

Discovery of the Year

  • Constance Serwaa Agyemang [Football/Berry Ladies]
  • Fatawu Issahaku [Football/Steadfast]
  • Kamaldeen Sulemana
  • Unilez Takyi – Swimming

Administrator of Year

  • Evelyn Nsiah-Asare (Hasaacas Ladies)
  • George Okoe Lamptey (Ghana Boxing Federation)
  • Gifty Oware-Aboagye (Berry Ladies

SWAG President Award???

Corporate Award

Life Time Achievement

Decorative Award

  • Togbe Afede XIV
  • Nana Bayin Eyison

Dedication and Valour

  • Coach Ofori Asare (Amateur Boxing)
  • Lawyer Ntow Fianko
  • Oduro Nyarko

Chess Player of the Year

  • Philip Selikem Yao Amoako

Badminton Player of the Year

  • Kelvin Alphous – Male
  • Prospera Nantuo – Female

Tennis Player of the Year

  • Male Samuel Agbesi Antwi – Male
  • Naa Shika Mackorley – Female

Swimming Athlete of the Year

Source link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *